Teach · CoacH · Mentor

Mockingbird Education

Stages of Growth

What are the Stages of Growth?

The Stages of Growth Model organizes the development and adoption of new behaviors into stages of growth. 

The model is a research-based model.

The model conceptualizes stages of growth and helps individuals and organizations plan implementation efforts with clarity and fidelity.  


The model has been translated into a practical tool called Respect the Gradient (RTG) Maps.

An RTG map is essentially a rubric that  illustrates the stages of growth and development that an individual goes through when adopting a new behavior or implementing a new innovation (such as a new teaching or coaching strategy).  


An RTG map provides structure, clarity, accountability, and a means of tracking and communicating your progress.

It’s a practical tool that can significantly enhance your learning and growth when implementing new strategies.

At A Glance

Create a Respect the Gradient Map to chart your growth and progress with the strategy.  The RTG map is like a rubric that outlines the expected growth and development for a strategy during implementation. 

Use an RTG map:

  • As a conversation tool with peers or staff to determine what a strategy looks like when it is being implemented in various stages of growth.
  • As a tool to measure and chart progress.
  • As an accountability tool. 
Click to Enlarge
Click to Enlarge
Click to Enlarge
Click to Enlarge
Click to Enlarge
Click to Enlarge


Mockingbird Resources make Implementation Easier!

Click the menu to view the resources for this playbook. 

Note:  You will only see the menus for your account privileges.  If you are not a coach or facilitator, you will not see these resources.  Contact Mockingbird for more information.